Final Takeaways Before My Final Takaway’s Takaways

Standard

This class we focused on the design of websites and user interfaces. We had some interesting discussions on what makes a good or bad website, and many things were agreed on while there were other design features that age groups disagreed on.

My takeaways from that class are:

  1. This article brought up some important things to think about in terms of the design of the site. Usability is a main factor when considering the final design but you also want to make it attractive to the user as well. The author wants you to approach it from the viewpoint of the user and try and see how they think. In the article you are shown some neat images where they did eye tracking on the users and you can see what looks like infrared heat signatures where they eyes focused on the most while visiting the site. Top left corner and left side in general had the most attention, primarily because we read from left to right, and as the author points out, we really don’t read the sites at all we just scan for words that are relavant to what we are looking for. The article also goes into detail on not making the user think, and to focus on being intuitive so there aren’t any questions on how to use the site. Also the design needs to be attractive in order to capture the attention of the users quickly because we are all becoming impatient monsters, incapable of paying any attention to anything that takes more than a few seconds of our time. The author actually brought up many topics that we as students thought of in the discussion so we are learning and making some progress as a group, not sure if society as a whole is even doing that.
  2. The topic of UX in class had me thinking alot, that is what that burning smell was in class if you’re wondering. I was looking into careers in design and UX was one of the fields that I found to be pretty interested in. I know good design, and I know that I’m pretty creative and this article was interesting because they are tips I may someday use to stand out while applying for a job. The article had some simple but great tips to consider when applying for a UX job. The first was all about connections which is a no brainer but it goes with the old saying “Its not what you know, its who you know.” Everyone is on Facebook and Twitter these days, and industry professionals are really beginning to use Twitter to stay connected, so that is something I am going to have to start doing because I personally don’t care for the Twitter thing. I don’t like limiting my brilliance to 140 characters, I can cram 20 more characters and information into a basic text message but I digress… The biggest point the author made for me though was that you need to have some real world experience, whether you volunteer or have an internship. They explain that you can use other skills from other fields which hit home for me, because I have a unique combination of skills that I have acquired throughout my short but interesting life. Seeing things from being trained as a carpenter, cnc machine operator, getting my previous degree in Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement and graduating from the police academy I can use those experiences to put me ahead of others and demonstrate my problem solving skills. That is invaluable to recruiters, seeing someone who can be creative and solve problems for them.
  3. In this article the author explains how to construct a UX portfolio. The author says not to pretend to be a visual designer if you aren’t, which is great because I’m definitely no visual designer. While those skills are definitely a huge benefit the article explains that soft skills are also incredibly important as well. You need to be able to communicate your ideas, and display your capacity for analytical thinking, creative problem solving, and ability to plan. The article also brings up a good point when it comes to speaking to those who are interviewing you. Each person is going to be listening differently, when topics come up that they don’t understand or are not interested in they tend not to listen as well as they would have if they were interested. The author says to cater to each individual who is in the process, a programmer for example will understand things that a creative director will and vice versa. Something to keep in mind for an interview.
  4. This article is more about the design of apps before the user interface. It has some tips to keeping you on track in the design process like planning out the design before you start actually start coding the product and to consider the screen size of the devices you are developing your app for. It brought up a really good point that people seem to overlook in app design, how to display the fact that the program is doing something or loading. You need to design the app and any loading indication to mesh with the OS of the device. That also brings up another point that the article, you as a developer need to be familiar with the various operating systems you are developing for and the environments you need to use to develop them.
  5. This article is more about the visual design of apps, but it brings up man good points I wouldn’t have ever thought of. I like the tip that says to design the app or site with empty space. I was wondering why when I read it, but when the author explained that you need space for your finger on touch screens to swipe and move without accidentally activating anything I was amazed at the simplicity behind that idea. The other tips such as making it intuitive and pleasing to the eye weren’t really news to me but it was good to get it drilled in again.
Leave a Reply

